The Triads

Ethical Triad combines the spheres of Severity with Mercy, and Beauty is the result. This Triangle is the seat of the Higher Self or Lower Genius, which seeks ever to unite our conscious, waking self to that Greater Genius above the Abyss. The Astral or Mundane Triad is the realm of the waking personality, concerned only with worldly affairs. The balancing of the three spheres of this triad is the first step of the Hermetic student, for only when the Astral House is in order, can the higher branches of the Tree be seriously explored.

THE FOUR WORLDS. This method of looking at the Tree is especially important when considering how much it corresponds to the Tarot. Qabalistic theory describes the universe as being separated into four distinct "Worlds." (In fact the four-fold model occurs over and over again in esoteric thought.) With the Creation of the Sephiroth by the Path of the Flaming Sword, the four worlds came into being, each evolving from the one before it, becoming more substantial as they reach manifestation into physical form. Each Qabalistic "World" is symbolized by one of the Hebrew letters of the Divine Name of God, "Yod Heh Vav Heh" (which is known as the Tetragrammaton or Four-lettered Name). These four letters are said to represent the true name of God which is unknown and unpronounceable. Each of the four letters of the Name have one of the four elements assigned to it. Yod, the first letter of the Tetragrammaton is attributed to the element of Fire. Heh, the second letter is associated with the element of Water. Vav, the third letter is ascribed to Air, while Heh Final refers to the element of Earth. These letters also show the balance of polarities inherent in the Qabalistic system, for Yod-Fire and Vav-Air are masculine, positive energies, while Heh-Water and Heh Final-Earth, are feminine and negative currents. The unpronounceable Name of God is the cornerstone of the four-fold model of the manifest universe.

ATZILUTH is the first of the Four Worlds and is attributed to Yod, the first letter. It is known as the Archetypal World, and the domain of Primordial Fire. This is the Divine realm of pure Spirit which consists of the spheres of Kether, Chokmah and Binah, all three of the Sephiroth which reside above the Abyss. The fiery domain of Atziluth activates and fathers the other three Worlds. This is the World inhabited by the presence of the powers of God, symbolized by various Divine names.

Was this article helpful?

0 0
The Illustrated Key To The Tarot

The Illustrated Key To The Tarot

The pathology of the poet says that the undevout astronomer is mad the pathology of the very plain man says that the genius is mad and between these extremes, which stand for ten thousand analogous excesses, the sovereign reason takes the part of a moderator and does what it can. I do not think that there is a pathology of the occult dedications, but about their extravagances no one can question, and it is not less difficult than thankless to act as a moderator regarding them.

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment