The Divisions Of The Soul

The NEPHESCH is the dark side of our subconscious also known as the lower self which resides in Yesod. The proper use of Nephesch energy is important in some aspects of Magick but it must always remain under the firm control of the Ruach.

The final part of the Soul is called the G'UPH. Located in Malkuth, this lowest part of the soul is closely tied to the physical body. It is a low level of the subconscious which communicates with the brain about the current condition of the human body.

This completes our short outline of the Tree of Life so that we may move on to the subject of Tarot. However the serious student would be well advised to dig deeper into the bountiful well of ancient wisdom known as the Qabalah, which Dion Fortune described as "the Yoga of the West" since it is the foundation of the Magick and Mysticism of our culture. A couple of excellent books on the subject include Ms. Fortune's The Mystical Qabalah and The Kabbalah Unveiled translated by S.L. MacGregor Mathers. Further study on this system will serve to enhance the reader's understanding of the wealth of Spiritual knowledge to be found in the origins of Western Mystical thought, as well as his/her understanding of the Tarot.

Tarot Fundamentals

The Tarot is an illustrated textbook of Occult Knowledge that has numerous parallels with the Qabalah. This marvelous picture book reveals harmonies and relationships between many combinations of occult symbols which can greatly enrich anyone who takes the time to study them. A traditional Tarot deck consists of seventy-eight cards which are divided into two groups; the Major Arcana (also known as Trumps or Atus) and the Minor Arcana (which is further subdivided into two groups, the Small or numbered cards, and the Court or Royal cards). The Trumps are twenty-two in number and correspond to the twenty-two letters of the Hebrew alphabet. Of the fifty-six Minor cards, forty are Number cards and the final sixteen are Court cards. In the New Golden Dawn Ritual Tarot deck, there are seventy-nine cards—one extra version of the Temperance card is given in order to conform with the symbolic ritual needs of the Hermetic Order of the Golden Dawn. However in either meditation or divination with the deck, one or the other version should be put aside so that the traditional number of cards in the deck is maintained. THE TRUMPS

The cards of the Major Arcana are the more easily recognized ones in the deck and those which even Tarot dabblers seem to have a grasp of. These cards are assigned to the twenty-two Paths which connect the Sephiroth on the Tree of Life. The Paths are the main focus of the Tarot deck because they illustrate forces in transit, the forces which carry the currents of energy between one Sephirah and another. These energies are Karmic Forces which have influenced the incidents of the past, and can effect events in the present and future. Moreover, the Paths are subjective passages of human consciousness which lead to the objective centers or emanations of energy known as Sephiroth. The Atus are kinetic, changing forces as opposed to the Minor cards which are stationary and fixed. Thus, the Trump cards in particular are designed as vehicles by which we can travel the Path of the Serpent of Wisdom, winding up the Tree of Life in an undulating search for Spiritual knowledge.

Another important point about the Tarot Trumps is that one of the twenty-two letters of the Hebrew alphabet is assigned to each card. This alphabet is much more than a simple series of letters. It is a complete Qabalistic philosophy and system of its own. Each letter is a glyph or compound symbol with many associated ideas. For example, the First Hebrew letter is Aleph, which is equivalent to the letter A. The meaning of Aleph is "ox" and it has a numerical value of 1. Aleph is also used to represent the element of Air, but in addition, it has the color yellow and the musical note E-natural ascribed to it. Thus from one single letter of Hebrew, we have obtained many different but connected ideas and sensory images. Hebrew is in fact a hieroglyphic alphabet of symbols, hidden meanings, colors, numbers and sounds, which is ideal for unlocking the doors of our subconscious minds in order to communicate with our inner Selves. The subconscious speaks to us in symbols and archetypes. By training the conscious mind to understand the meanings of symbols, we are in fact training both parts of our mind to learn how to speak to each other. This not only leads to the development of a healthier personality, but helps to clear the way for real spiritual growth to occur. The Hebrew letters were intended to be meditated upon as Sacred letters ... portals of Hidden Wisdom through which one can climb the Tree to reach its Summit.

Continue reading here: Attribution Of The Tarot Trumps

Was this article helpful?

0 0