In the upper part we find the Black Moon and the White Moon; the antitheses.

In the middle section, a magician with the Staff of the Patriarchs in one hand and the Ansate or Tao Cross in the other hand. He is found standing upon a crocodile which waits with open jaws to devour him.

The crocodile is Set, Satan, the "psychological I", the myself, always lying in wait to devour the one who allows himself to fall. The magician valiantly grasps the Tao Cross (the Arcanum A.Z.F.) to defend himself.

The magician is covered with a tiger skin. Indubitably, the dog and the tiger have an esoteric association in the same work of the mystic Death. The dog is the Sexual Fire, the erotic instinct which is found at the very root of our seminal system. The tiger is different. This is known by the "Tiger Knights", those jaguars who fight against the ego, those true felines of revolutionary psychology who have pitted themselves against themselves, against their own psychological de fects.

Really the sagacity and the ferocity of the tiger are necessary in or der to kill the human personality and make the Dragon of Wisdom of 7 Serpents (symbols of the Decapitated) shine in man.


Arcanum number 21 has been confused with Arcanum number 22 which is the Crown of life.

Arcanum number 21 is the "Madman of the Tarot", or the "Transmutation". The kabalistic addition gives us 2 + 1 = 3. In this Arcanum 21 the Initiate has to fight against the "3" Traitors of Hiram Abiff: the demon of Desire, the demon of the Mind and the demon of Ill- will.

One is never in more danger of being a demon than when one is closest to being an angel. Every Initiate who allows himself to fall is really the madman of the Tarot. When the Alchemist spills the Vessel of Hermes, he in fact be comes the madman of the Tarot, "the fool".

It is necessary to eliminate desire if we want to avoid the danger of falling.

He who wants to annihilate desire must discover its causes. The causes of desire are to be found in the sensations. We live in a world of sensations and we need to understand them. There are five types:

1: Visual Sensations. 2: Auditory Sensations. 3: Olfactory Sensations. 4: Taste Sensations. 5: Tactile Sensations.

The five special types of sensations are transformed into desire. We must not condemn the sensations, we must not justify them, we must under stand them profoundly.

Only in understanding the sensations do we kill desire. Only by annthilating desire can the mind be liberated, which is normally found trapped within the confines of desire.

Liberating the mind produces the Awakening of Consciousness. If we want to put an end to the causes of desire we need to live in a state of constant vigilance. It is urgent to live in a state of alert perception, alert newness. The "I" is a great book, a book of many volumes. Only by means of the technique of internal meditation can we study that book.

l Xv
Fundamentals of Magick

Fundamentals of Magick

Magick is the art and practice of moving natural energies to effect needed or wanted change. Magick is natural, there is absolutely nothing supernatural about it. What is taught here are various techniques of magick for beginners. Magick is natural and simple and the techniques to develop abilities should be simple and natural as well. What is taught on this site is not only the basics of magick, but the basics of many things.

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment