THE Tarot pack is composed of 78 cards or plates; 22 of them bear symbolical names (the Juggler, Sun, Moon, Hanged Man, etc.), and they should be separated from the 56 others, which are divided into four great series: Sceptres, Cups, Swords, and Pentacles.

These four series each contain 14 cards (King, Queen, Knight, Knave, Ace, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 and 10), corresponding with the four series of common playing cards (clubs, hearts, spades, diamonds), but called Sceptres, Cups, Swords, Pentacles. These are the Minor Arcana.

The 22 symbolical cards are the Major Arcana or Great Arcana.

1. MINOR ARCANA, formed of four sequences of 14 cards each, or 56 cards in all.

2. MAJOR ARCANA, formed of 22 cards.

These are the two great divisions which must first be remembered.

We have already said that the minor arcana were divided into four sequences: Sceptres, Cups, Swords, Pentacles. Each of these series represents one of the four great principles, as follows--

The Sceptres represent Enterprise and Glory.

The Cups — Love and Happiness.

The Swords — Hatred and Misfortune.

The Pentacles — Money and Interest.

ENTERPRISE, LOVE, HATRED, FORTUNE, are the four great principles which must be remembered.

If you now take one of these packets of 14 cards, you will see that it is formed of four figures, and of 10 other cards, which bear numbers formed by the symbols.

We will first look at the 4 figures-The King represents Man. The Queen — Woman. The Knight — A Young Man. The Knave --- A Child.

The Man represents the creator, the one who undertakes the enterprises; the woman characterizes love; the young man, conflict, struggle, rivalry, hatred; the child symbolizes the absolute neuter, the second He, which varies according to circumstances, money, which addresses itself to all, and applies itself to all, universal transition. Man, Woman, Young Man, Child, are therefore the same symbols applied to the family as the four great principles applied to humanity, and to know them in one case is to know them in the other.

To sum up all this, we may say that the first element represents the positive, the second the negative, the third the opposition between the two; finally, the last the absolute neuter; and these elements are symbolized by the four figures of each of the minor arcana.

But even as the cards are divided into two colours, red and black, so humanity is divided into dark and fair.

The eight figures of the Sceptres and Swords therefore p. 309

represent dark people, the eight figures of the Cups and Pentacles, fair people.

The figures of the Sceptres and Cups are good; of the Swords and Pentacles, bad.

We shall presently repeat this in connection with each colour, and will now recapitulate the meanings of the four figures of the Sceptres.

King of Sceptres. Dark man; good; a friend. Queen of Sceptres: Dark woman; good. Knight of Sceptres: Dark young man; good. Knave of Sceptres: Dark child or messenger; good.

Besides our four figures we have to consider the 10 cards bearing numbers. How can we discover the meaning of these 10 cards, and above all how can we recall it?

We have nothing new to learn, but need only apply all that we already know. We divide our 10 cards into four packets: three packets of 3 cards each, and one packet formed of a single card, the 10th. When this is done we say--

The first packet of 3 cards, formed of the ace, 2, and 3, will have the same meaning as the Man, enterprise, commencement, the creation of some undertaking (enterprise, love, hatred, or money).

The second packet, composed of the 4, 5, and 6, represents Woman, and all the ideas of negation, of reflection, associated with her; that is to say, the opposite of man, antagonism, opposition in any matter.

The third packet signifies the equilibrium which results from the action of the two opposites upon each other, represented by the Young Man.

Lastly, the Child, the absolute neuter, will be represented by the 10th card.

Each of the 3 cards in these packets have the same meaning.

The first card of these 3 packets will indicate the commencement; the second, opposition, antagonism; the third, equilibrium, which gives us the following general sequence in our 10 cards.

0 0

Post a comment